Please note that, as the College goes about its daily functions, we may have to close parts of the College at various times.  Wherever possible, we will update this page to give you advance notice of these closures.

At busy and peak times the college reserves the right to restrict/deny access to enable a good visitor experience.

You can check on-the-day openings by calling the New College Lane gate on 01865 279253 (between 10.30 am-5.00 pm).  Tour guides can also subscribe to our announcements mailing list by emailing tourism@new.ox.ac.uk.

Planned closures in 2019

  • Saturday 10th August - College closed from 12.30 pm (last entry midday)

  • Sunday 1st September - Chapel closed from 3 pm

  • Saturday 7th September - College closed from 2 pm

  • Monday 9th September - College closed from 1 pm

  • Wednesday 11th September - Chapel closed from 4 pm

  • Wednesday 18th September - Chapel closed all day

  • Friday 20th September - College closed all day (Admissions open day)

  • Friday 27th September - College closed all day

  • Saturday 28th September - College closed from 2 pm

  • Thursday 10th October - Hall closed all day

  • Friday 11th October - Hall closed all day

  • Saturday 12th October - Hall closed until 2 pm 

  • Saturday 2nd November - Hall closed from 11.45 am

  • Saturday 16th November - College closed all day

  • 8th-18th December - College closed (due to the admissions programme)

  • CHRISTMAS CLOSURE - 21st December-1st January inclusive. We reopen on 2nd January at 1.30 pm. 

  • During the busy exam periods of Trinity Term we will only be accepting group tours from the Oxford Guild of Guides. This will apply between weeks 5-9 inclusive.

Open Doors weekend 2019

We are delighted to announce that we will be taking part in the Open Doors weekend on Sunday 15th September 2019. We will be open from 10.30 am - 5.00 pm (last entry at 4.45 pm)

REGRETTABLY NO GROUP BOOKINGS/GUIDED TOURS THAT DAY.

Our Chapel will be open from 10.30 am-11.15 am and again from 1.15 pm-5 pm. All other parts of the College will be open for the duration of the day. 

Regular closures

During academic term, weekly concerts are held in the Chapel during Wednesday (free to attend) and Friday (small admission charge) lunchtimes. Visitors are welcome to attend these concerts, but the Chapel is closed to non concert attendees at these times.

The Hall will close daily for lunch.

During term-time this tends to be between 11.45 am and 1.30 pm, and between 11.45 am and 2.00 pm over the summer.

 

Whilst we try to keep this page regularly updated, please note that the college is a working environment and can be closed at short notice.

 

Explore further

Discover more about New College