Please note that, as the College goes about its daily functions, we may have to close parts of the College at various times.  Wherever possible, we will update this page to give you advance notice of these closures.

At busy and peak times the college reserves the right to restrict/deny access to enable a good visitor experience.

You can check on-the-day openings by calling the New College Lane gate on 01865 279253 (between 10.30 am-5.00 pm).  Tour guides can also subscribe to our announcements mailing list by emailing tourism@new.ox.ac.uk.

Planned closures in 2019

  • Please note that during the Winter season (mid-October to mid-March) the college is closed every Sunday and Monday (open Tuesday-Saturday inclusive)

  • Wednesday 30th October - Chapel closed all day

  • Saturday 2nd November - Hall closed from 11.45 am

  • Saturday 16th November - College closed all day

  • Tuesday 26th November - Chapel closed all day

  • Friday 29th November - Chapel closed all day

  • Saturday 30th November - Main Chapel closed (Ante-Chapel access only)

  • 8th-18th December - College closed (due to the admissions programme)

  • CHRISTMAS CLOSURE - 21st December-1st January inclusive. We reopen on 2nd January at 1.30 pm. 

Planned closures in 2020

  • Friday 10th April (Good Friday) - Chapel closed 1.00-3.30 pm

  • Saturday 11th April - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

  • Monday 13th April - Chapel closed from 2 pm

  • Sunday 3rd May - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

  • During the busy exam periods of Trinity Term we will only be accepting group tours from the Oxford Guild of Guides. This will apply between weeks 5-9 inclusive (24th May-28th June 2020 inclusive)

  • Sunday 7th June - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

  • Saturday 18th July - College closed from 1 pm

  • Saturday 25th July - College closed all day

  • Saturday 1st August - College closed all day

  • Sunday 2nd August - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

  • Sunday 6th September - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

  • Sunday 4th October - Chapel closed from 2.30 pm

Regular closures

During academic term, weekly concerts are held in the Chapel during Wednesday (free to attend) and Friday (small admission charge) lunchtimes. Visitors are welcome to attend these concerts, but the Chapel is closed to non concert attendees at these times.

The Hall will close daily for lunch.

During term-time this tends to be between 11.45 am and 1.30 pm, and between 11.45 am and 2.00 pm over the summer.

Whilst we try to keep this page regularly updated, please note that the college is a working environment and can be closed at short notice.

 

Explore further

Discover more about New College