2021 Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize Shortlist Announced

New College is proud to announce the shortlist for the 2021 Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize, celebrating the best in non-fiction writing. 


  • Colin Jones - The Fall of Robespierre (Oxford University Press)
  • Mark Mazower - The Greek Revolution (Allen Lane)
  • Andrew Roberts - George III (Allen Lane)
  • Colin Thubron - The Amur River (Chatto & Windus)
  • Frances Wilson - Burning Man (Bloomsbury)

The winner will be announced on 15th March 2022. 


Graphic listing all shortlisted titles (see article for shortlist) and book covers

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize celebrates the best in non-fiction writing. The first award was made in 1956, and it has been given annually ever since. 

The prize, worth £5,000, has been generously supported by Pol Roger since 2005. It is hosted in New College, Oxford, where Duff Cooper studied.

Pol Roger logoNew College Oxford logo