Planned Closures

Please note that, as the College goes about its daily functions, we may have to close parts of the College at various times.  Wherever possible, we will update this page to give you advance notice of these closures.

You can check on-the-day openings by calling the New College Lane gate on 01865 279253.  Tour guides can also subscribe to our announcements mailing list by emailing tourism@new.ox.ac.uk.

Planned closures in 2017

Saturday 22nd July - College closed from 1.00 pm

Saturday 29th July - College closed from 1 pm

Saturday 5th August - College closed all day

Thursday 17th August - Hall closed all day

Friday 18th August - Hall closed all day

19th-25th August inclusive - College closed entirely for this period (7 days)

Tuesday 29th August - Hall closed all day

Wednesday 30th August - Hall closed all day

Saturday 2nd September - College closed from 2.00 pm

Wednesday 13th September - Chapel closed from 4 pm

Saturday 23rd September - College closed from 2.00 pm

Friday 29th September - College closed all day

Saturday 28th October - College closed all day

Saturday 4th November - College closed all day

Saturday 9th December - College closed all day

Regular closures

Cloisters roof repair: We will be repairing the Cloisters roof throughout the year. Although we will try and keep the Cloisters open to visitors by repairing the roof in stages, there may be times when we have to temporarily close the Cloisters as a whole.

During academic term, weekly concerts are held in the Chapel during Wednesday (free to attend) and Friday (small admission charge) lunchtimes. Visitors are welcome to attend these concerts, but the Chapel is closed to non concert attendees at these times.

The Hall will close daily for lunch. During term-time this tends to be between 11.45am and 1.30pm, and between 11.45am and 2pm over the summer.